What It’s All About….


Hi, This is Savvy Grammie.

I decided I wanted to blog. I’ve had so many experiences and I want to share with others in my ever enlarging community. The core of the blog will be about Health, Diabetes, Losing weight or maintaining it, Insurance, Medicine, Doctors, Cures, … the things that come up everyday as you try to preserve your health.

I’m a normal woman and as I am doing this blog, I’m living my life. Doing things with my family, 6 children and 9 grandchildren, and all the things that it entails. I’m a foodie but I’m also diabetic and trying to manage my health. I’ve lost 60 lbs in the last year and a quarter. I’m maintaining that at this time and looking forward to continuing the challenge as a lifestyle change not a diet. My husband and I both like to cook and not just cook. It’s an adventure and we are constantly trying something new. In fact, my oldest son and I just tried making sugar-free ice cream. We are on batch 3 and have plans for the 4th. Things are looking up. Comparing regular french vanilla ice cream with our ice cream, we reduced the carbohydrates by two-thirds! That’s huge! Jeff, my oldest son and I can not live without ice cream. The last batch was amazing and with just a few tweaks, I think we will have something that will allow us to reasonably indulge. When we get done we will share our recipe with all of you. you should have seen us. like a couple of foodie chemists! It’s pretty comical. I’m 5’2″ and he is 6’3″. We look like “mut and jeff”!

It’s called, “A Walk Down the Garden Path” because I love gardening. I know I will share some of that. We have a postage stamp size garden in the summer and it is amazing what we get from growing it and what we are able to do with the produce. I also love flowers of every kind.

I deal with Social Security and Medicare so we will talk about that. I’m sure I will learn from you and I can give you some tips from the things I’ve experienced. As we travel down the garden path together we can share and learn from each other. I am looking forward to it.

Please tell me what you are thinking. I know we will enjoy our visits. See you again soon.

Savvy Grammie,

Jan

Comments are closed.

Journey Along the Garden Path

