What To Do When You Are Sick and Tired


William the Conqueror fell off his horse at Ma...

William the Conqueror fell off his horse at Mantes, suffering mortal injuries. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s 2:30am and I’m up. My body is aching all over and I feel total exhaustion. I feel sad because I want to fill the needs of my family and do my part and I just don’t have the strength or endurance to do that the way it should be done.

My grand-children are so precious to me and I feel like I fail them over and over. It makes me sad. You need energy for children and I just don’t have any.

I am sick and tired. I guess I’ve given in to a little pity party. I know there are plenty of you out there that are in the same boat and understand completely. I don’t have pity parties very often and I need to pick myself up, brush of the dust, and keep movin’! I have a friend who says, “You have to cowboy-up!”  That’s what I need to do, in a plan B kind of way.

The fact is that I am sick. With God‘s help, I’m still here long after everyone thought I would be gone. That’s good! With a focus on that’s good, I don’t feel equal to the tasks that have always been my responsibility. I wish it were different but it’s not. That doesn’t mean I give in or give up, but I have to allow myself to care for myself and do as much as I can and know when to stop. Have you heard that a good barber knows when to stop? It’s kinda like that at a much slower pace.

I always liked to hurdle myself into what lay in my path. It’s hard to slow down. I draw my strength from God everyday and He is faithful.

So. what do you do when you are sick and tired?

Female Horse Rider

Female Horse Rider by Mike Baird

  1. Thank God for every day and every breath you take.
  2. Keep you focus on what is good and positive.
  3. As much as is possible, give yourself the nutrition to keep your body as strong as possible.
  4. Listen to your body and rest as much as it tells you it needs.
  5. When you fall off the horse, pick yourself up and get back in the saddle. Even William the Conqueror fell off his horse.
  6. Love everyday you are given.
  7. Do the best you can and don’t berate yourself for what you can’t do.
  8. Live so you have no regrets.
  9. Count your blessings.
  10. Be thankful for God, your family and friends because without those three things, you would really have a bad day!

OK! I’m back in the saddle. I need to remind myself from time to time of what my attitude needs to be. Hope what I’m experiencing helps someone else out there. We have to encourage one another.

I feel strangely calm after writing this. I think I’m ready to try again. How about you?

I love it when you visit so come again,          Jan

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizforaday
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 05:47:01

    Self talk is alway helpful. I hope you feel better. 🙂

Journey Along the Garden Path

